ResourcesGuidesCompareToolsInstall free on Shopify
AlternativesMar 14, 2026

Best Smile.io Alternatives for Shopify in 2026

Smile.io is one of the most reviewed loyalty apps on Shopify (4.9 from 4,629 reviews), but its plans are built around monthly order volume and features unlock by tier. Shopify POS support and free product rewards start on Standard ($79/mo), while VIP tiers and points expiry need Growth ($199/mo, 2,500 orders, $20 per extra 100 orders). Plus is $999/mo billed annually. Wallet passes are not listed in its plan details. If you want a wallet-based loyalty card, different pricing or other plan limits, the apps below are worth comparing. For a detailed side-by-side with one of them, see our JeriCommerce vs Smile.io comparison.
Pricing and value at different store sizesCustomer engagement channels (web, wallet, push, email)Shopify POS support and which plan includes itPoints, tiers, and referral availability by planFree plan limitsIntegrations (Klaviyo, Shopify Flow, etc.)
Top Smile.io alternatives at a glance

Best Smile.io Alternatives for Shopify in 2026 — the short version

  • Smile.io is rated 4.9 from 4,629 reviews and has a free plan for 200 orders. Shopify POS support starts on Standard ($79/mo) and VIP tiers on Growth ($199/mo). We found no wallet passes in its plan details.
  • JeriCommerce puts the loyalty card in customers' Apple and Google Wallets as branded loyalty cards and sends push notifications to the pass. Growth is $49/mo.
  • Wallet passes are also offered by Novel, Marsello (from $60/mo), Joy (Advanced, $129/mo), Growave (Growth, $199/mo) and LoyaltyLion (optional add-on).
  • BON Loyalty has a free plan for 150 orders, a $15/mo Starter and unlimited orders on Growth ($129/mo).
  • For Yotpo's loyalty and reviews bundle, check the JeriCommerce vs Yotpo comparison first.
Minimalist desktop workspace with laptop dashboard, smartphone, and notebook for comparing loyalty app options

Quick Recommendations

best overall
JeriCommerce
Smile.io's plan details list no wallet passes. JeriCommerce puts the loyalty card in Apple Wallet and Google Wallet and sends push notifications to the pass, with a free plan to test it
best for budget
BON Loyalty
Free plan for 150 orders, Starter at $15/mo, and Growth at $129/mo with unlimited orders and VIP tiers. Smile.io Growth is $199/mo for 2,500 orders
best for omnichannel
JeriCommerce
Wallet card plus Shopify POS tiles to scan the card QR, add points and redeem rewards. Joy (Advanced, $129/mo) and Growave (Growth, $199/mo) also offer wallet passes with POS
best for enterprise
LoyaltyLion
Advanced and Plus are quote-based, with multiple POS locations, unlimited integrations on all plans and an optional Loyalty Pass wallet add-on

9 Best Smile.io Alternatives

JeriCommerce
WalletPOSnative
Loyalty card in Apple Wallet and Google Wallet, with push notifications and Shopify POS tiles
Best for: Brands that want a wallet-based loyalty card and push notifications, with scanning at Shopify POS
  • Loyalty card lives in Apple Wallet and Google Wallet, with no app download
  • Push notifications to the wallet pass: automatic (balance, tier, reward, referral), scheduled, or triggered from Shopify Flow or Klaviyo
  • Shopify POS tiles: scan the card QR, add or remove points, redeem rewards
  • Klaviyo integration (events, segments, Customer Hub loyalty provider) and Shopify Flow with 18 triggers and 8 actions
  • Plans are capped by loyalty cards and transactions, with overage fees
  • Rewards are limited on lower plans (2 on Free, 5 on Growth)
  • NFC identification is only on Advanced and Enterprise
  • Small review base on the Shopify App Store (5.0 from 10 reviews)
LoyaltyLion
WalletPOSdeep
Loyalty platform with points, rewards, referrals and VIP tiers, plus an optional wallet add-on
Best for: Brands that want Klaviyo-ready loyalty and accept quote-based pricing as they grow
  • Classic includes 500 orders per month and a Klaviyo integration with ready-made email flows
  • Optional Loyalty Pass add-on for Apple Wallet and Google Wallet on all plans
  • Unlimited integrations on all plans; works with Shopify POS, Shopify Flow, Gorgias, Klaviyo and Recharge
  • 4.6 rating from 542 reviews on the Shopify App Store
  • Classic is $199/mo for 500 orders; Advanced and Plus are quote-only
  • Dynamic VIP tiers are an add-on on Classic and included from Advanced
  • The Shopify listing shows a Free plan (400 orders) but the vendor pricing page does not
Yotpo Loyalty
POSdeep
Loyalty and referrals from a vendor that also sells reviews, SMS and email
Best for: Brands that want loyalty from the same vendor as their reviews, SMS and email tools
  • Free plan with no order limit: basic points, referrals and a Klaviyo integration
  • Bundle discount when Reviews & UGC and Loyalty are bought together
  • Premium adds VIP tiers, free product rewards, smart segments, analytics and POS support
  • Premium includes a success and onboarding manager
  • Pro starts at $199/mo and charges per order beyond the 500 included ($0.20 per order for 501 to 1,000)
  • VIP tiers, free product rewards and POS support are on Premium, which is quote-only
  • Wallet passes are not listed in the plan details
Growave
WalletPOSstandard
Loyalty, wishlist and product reviews in one app
Best for: Stores that want loyalty, wishlists and reviews from one app
  • Free plan (200 orders/mo) with loyalty points, wishlist and product reviews
  • Referrals, Shopify POS and Shopify Flow from Entry ($15/mo)
  • VIP tiers, POS loyalty QR and Apple and Google Wallet from Growth ($199/mo)
  • 4.8 rating from 1,288 reviews on the Shopify App Store
  • Entry covers 500 orders, then $20 per extra 100
  • VIP tiers and wallet passes need the $199/mo Growth plan
  • The Free plan is on the App Store listing only, not on growave.io
Joy Loyalty
WalletPOSstandard
Loyalty and referrals app with a free plan and paid plans up to $499/mo
Best for: Stores that want a free starter plan, with wallet passes, VIP tiers and POS available from Advanced
  • Free Starter plan for 250 monthly orders with points, referrals and a widget
  • Klaviyo and 30+ integrations from Essential ($29/mo)
  • VIP tiers, paid membership, POS loyalty and Apple and Google Wallet on Advanced ($129/mo)
  • 4.9 rating from 1,790 reviews; 14-day free trial and 30-day refund on paid plans
  • Order-based pricing with overage ($15 per 100 orders on Essential, $10 on Advanced)
  • REST API, webhooks and checkout UI extensions are on Ultimate ($499/mo)
BON Loyalty
POSstandard
Loyalty app with points, referrals and VIP tiers, and a free plan
Best for: Small stores that want a free entry plan and a low-priced first paid tier
  • Free plan for up to 150 monthly orders with points, rewards and an anti-cheat referral program
  • Starter at $15/mo (300 orders); Basic at $29/mo (500 orders) adds Shopify POS earn and redeem
  • Growth ($129/mo) has unlimited monthly orders and adds VIP tiers
  • 5.0 rating from 1,957 reviews on the Shopify App Store
  • Order caps on the lower tiers (150, 300 and 500 orders)
  • VIP tiers need the $129/mo Growth plan
  • Wallet passes are not listed on the vendor or App Store pages
Rivo
POSstandard
Loyalty and referrals platform with a free plan and Shopify POS from $15/mo
Best for: DTC brands that want a customizable loyalty and referrals platform
  • Free plan on the App Store (up to 200 orders/mo) with points, branding and automated email campaigns
  • Shopify POS integration from Essential ($15/mo)
  • VIP tiers, points expiry, analytics and referrals on Scale ($49/mo)
  • 4.7 rating from 1,440 reviews on the Shopify App Store
  • Scale includes 400 orders on the App Store, then $20 per 100, capped at $499/mo
  • API, Developer Toolkit and paid loyalty tiers are on Plus ($499/mo)
  • rivo.io lists only Scale, Plus and Custom, so the App Store Free and Essential plans may not match the vendor site
Novel
WalletPOSstandard
Wallet passes for brands, with referrals and push notifications (Novel: Wallet Pass for Brands)
Best for: Brands that want a wallet pass, referral and push notification product
  • Apple Wallet and Google Wallet passes with unlimited push notifications and location-based push
  • Unlimited QR code referrals
  • Automatic storefront login for Shopify Plus stores
  • Works with Klaviyo, Postscript, Gorgias, Okendo, Junip and other tools on the App Store listing
  • Growth is $299/mo (first 1,000 passes included, then $0.10 per pass per month)
  • The pricing text lists no points or VIP tier features
  • POS integration and full API access are listed on the Enterprise plan on the vendor site
  • Small review base on the Shopify App Store (5.0 from 15 reviews)
Rise.ai
POSdeep
Gift cards and store credit with referrals
Best for: Stores that want gift cards and store credit at the center of their rewards
  • Gift card program, manual store credit and referrals from Starter ($19.99/mo)
  • Bulk gift card creation and an apply-store-credit button on Pro ($199.99/mo)
  • Works with Shopify POS, Shopify Flow, Klaviyo and Gorgias; 4.7 rating from 759 reviews
  • 7-day free trial on all plans
  • Priced by store orders (100, 400 or 2,000 included, then $0.10 to $0.20 per extra order)
  • No free plan is listed on the App Store
  • VIP tier, POS and API availability by plan is not stated on the listing

Quick Comparison

ProductStarting Paid PriceFree PlanWallet PassesPOS SupportPush NotificationsVIP TiersReferralsApp Store Rating
Smile.io$15/moYes (200 orders)Not listedYes (Standard $79+)Not listedYes (Growth $199+)Yes (Free plan)4.9 (4,629)
JeriCommerce$49/moYes (50 loyalty cards)Yes (Apple + Google)Yes (QR; NFC on Advanced+)Yes (wallet pass)YesYes5.0 (10 reviews)
LoyaltyLion$199/moApp Store only (400 orders)Optional add-onYes (1 location on Classic)Not listedAdd-on on Classic, included from AdvancedYes4.6 (542)
Yotpo Loyalty$199/moYes (no order limit)Not listedPremium (quote)Not listed (SMS sold separately)Premium (quote)Yes (Free plan)Not checked
Growave$15/moApp Store only (200 orders)Yes (Growth $199+)Yes (Entry $15+)Not listedYes (Growth $199+)Yes (Entry $15+)4.8 (1,288)
Joy Loyalty$29/moYes (250 orders)Yes (Advanced $129+)Yes (Advanced $129+)Not listedYes (Advanced $129+)Yes (Free plan)4.9 (1,790)
BON Loyalty$15/moYes (150 orders)Not listedYes (Basic $29+)Not listedYes (Growth $129+)Yes (Free plan)5.0 (1,957)
Rivo$15/moApp Store only (200 orders)Not listedYes (Essential $15+)Not listedYes (Scale $49+)Yes (Scale $49+)4.7 (1,440)
Novel$299/moDeveloper stores onlyYes (core product)Enterprise planYes (unlimited)Not listedYes (QR referrals)5.0 (15)
Rise.ai$19.99/moNone listedNot listedWorks with Shopify POSNot listedNot statedYes (Starter $19.99+)4.7 (759)

How to Choose the Right Alternative

Start by checking which features you need and which plan unlocks them. If you want customers to carry the loyalty card in their phone wallet, look at JeriCommerce, Novel, Marsello, Joy (Advanced) or Growave (Growth). For POS, Rivo and Growave include it from $15/mo and BON from $29/mo, against $79/mo on Smile.io. If order-based pricing is the issue, BON Loyalty has unlimited orders on Growth ($129/mo). For quote-based enterprise plans, look at LoyaltyLion and Yotpo. Use our loyalty ROI calculator to estimate the revenue impact before committing.

FAQ

Can I migrate my loyalty data from Smile.io to another app?
Usually yes, through a CSV of customer point balances and tier status, but we have not verified each app's import process. Ask the new app's support which format it accepts, and run both programs in parallel for a short period so customers keep their points.
Which Smile.io alternative has the best free plan?
It depends on what you need. LoyaltyLion lists a Free plan with 400 monthly orders on the Shopify App Store (its vendor pricing page does not). Joy's Starter covers 250 orders, Growave's App Store Free plan 200 orders, Smile.io 200, BON Loyalty 150. Yotpo's free plan has no order limit but basic points and referrals. JeriCommerce's free plan has 50 loyalty cards, 200 transactions and 2 rewards.
Do any Smile.io alternatives support Apple and Google Wallet?
Yes, several. JeriCommerce and Novel are built around wallet passes. Marsello includes Apple and Google Wallet from Launch ($60/mo), Joy from Advanced ($129/mo), Growave from Growth ($199/mo), and LoyaltyLion offers Loyalty Pass as an optional add-on. We did not find wallet passes in Smile.io's plan details.
Which alternative is best for stores with physical locations?
Check POS availability by plan. JeriCommerce has Shopify POS tiles to scan the card QR, add points and redeem rewards (NFC identification is on Advanced and Enterprise). Growave has Shopify POS from Entry ($15/mo), Rivo from Essential ($15/mo), BON from Basic ($29/mo), Joy on Advanced ($129/mo), and Marsello on its Launch and Accelerate plans. Smile.io includes POS support from Standard ($79/mo).
Is it worth switching from Smile.io if my program is already running?
It depends on your pain points. If you are hitting plan limits, want wallet passes, or need a feature that sits on a higher Smile.io tier, switching may help. If your program works and the pricing fits, the switching effort may not be justified. Estimate the impact with our retention rate calculator before deciding.

Try JeriCommerce Free: a loyalty card in the customer's wallet

Wallet loyalty card, Shopify POS tiles and push notifications. Free plan available; installs in about 5 minutes.

Install Free on Shopify
5.0 ★ Shopify App Store · 200+ brands · Free plan available